I MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN RESOLUTIONS

Resolution No.	Sponsor	Title	Date Intro	Date of Presentation	Date Adopted	Date Referred	Referred to	PUBLIC HEARING DATE	DATE AUTHORS REPORT FILED	NOTES
552-37 (COR)	Tina Rose Muña Barnes	Relative to recognizing the FSM community of Guam on the observance of "FSM Independence Day"; and commending the FSM community on the occasion of its Thirty-eight (38th) Year Anniversary as an independent nation.		11/2/24 10:00 a.m.						

I MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2024 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 552-37 (COR)

22

Introduced by:	William A. Parkinson (1)
	Tina Rose Muña Barnes
	V

Relative to recognizing the FSM community of Guam on the observance of "FSM Independence Day"; and commending the FSM community on the occasion of its Thirty-eight (38th) Year Anniversary as an independent nation.

1	BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE
2	NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:
3	WHEREAS, Micronesia is a region in the western Pacific that is comprised of thousands of
4	islands, including Guam, the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), the Commonwealth of the
5	Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands (RMI),
6	the Republic of Nauru, and the Republic of Kiribati; and
7	WHEREAS, the FSM, which attained its independence on November 3, 1986, is comprised
8	of the island states of Chuuk, Yap, Kosrae, and Pohnpei; and
9	WHEREAS, Guam is a unique island inclusive of various cultures and is currently home to
10	thousands of individuals who are of FSM descent; and
11	WHEREAS, the people of Guam continue to have a strong relationship with the FSM
12	community of Guam, one that has been built by years of friendship, kinship, and a shared sentiment
13	of wanting all Guamanians to prosper and succeed; and
14	WHEREAS, the contributions by members of Guam's FSM community have proven to be
15	invaluable and beneficial to the overall success of Guam and its people; and
16	WHEREAS, over thousands of families in Guam's FSM community are making an investment
17	in Guam's future by raising their children here; and
18	WHEREAS, over thousand members of Guam's FSM community are contributing to the
19	island's economy through their employment, with the vast majority working in Guam's private sector;
20	and
21	WHEREAS, there are members of Guam's FSM community which are also serving in the

United States Armed Forces, the Reserves, or the National Guard, and more are veterans; and

1	WHEREAS, with the support from many community partners, including the FSM Association					
2	of Guam, the FSM Consulate Office, the Mañe'lu or the Micronesian Resource Center, members of					
3	Guam's business community, the regional leaders from the FSM national and state governments, along					
4	with members of the FSM community on Guam, will celebrate the occasion of "FSM Independence					
5	Day" on this day Saturday, November 2, 2024, with the theme "Unity in Diversity; Celebrating Our					
6	Heritage and Future"; now therefore, be it					
7	RESOLVED, that the Committee on Rules of I Mina'trentai Siette Na Liheslaturan Guåhan					
8	does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, recognize the FSM community of Guam on the					
9	observance of "FSM Independence Day"; and commend the FSM community on the occasion of its					
10	Thirty-eight (38th) Year Anniversary as an independent nation; and be it further					
11	RESOLVED, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and					
12	the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter					
13	transmitted to His Excellency Wesley W. Simina, President, Federated States of Micronesia; The					
14	Honorable Esmond B. Moses, Speaker of the 23rd FSM Congress; The Honorable Johnny Silbanuz,					
15	FSM, Acting Consul General to Guam; to The Honorable James C. Moylan, Guam Delegate to the					
16	United States Congress; and to The Honorable Lourdes A. Leon Guerrero, I Maga'hågan Guåhan.					
	DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I MINA'TRENTAI SIETTE NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE DAY OF.					
	THERESE M. TERLAJE Speaker CHRIS "MALAFUNKSHUN" BARNETT Chairperson, Committee on Rules					
	AMANDA L. SHELTON Legislative Secretary					